fbpx Skip to content

Commissioner Ted Terry Introduces Resolution to Create a Resident-Led Environmental Justice Commission

The proposal for this Commission is in direct response to residents’ call for inclusion in decisions about environmental policies impacting their communities.

DEKALB COUNTY– Today, Commissioner Ted Terry (D-District 6) introduced a resolution that will give DeKalb County residents a voice in addressing environmental justice issues that have plagued their communities. This Commission will ensure DeKalb County prioritizes environmental justice initiatives and remains aligned with the Biden Administration’s Justice40 Initiative

Commissioner Terry’s call for the DeKalb Environmental Justice Commission is a direct response to residents’ call for greater transparency in current and ongoing environmental efforts, like DeKalb County’s consent decree, as well as greater inclusion and equity in environmental decision-making to ensure that all community members, especially those historically underserved and overburdened by pollution, are at the table.

“DeKalb County residents have voiced their concerns to me loud and clear: they need to be at the heart of the decisions that affect their environment and health,” said Commissioner Terry. “The DeKalb Environmental Justice Commission will provide for collaboration, transparency and ensure accountability to those we serve so that we can create a more equitable and sustainable future for all of DeKalb County.” 

The responsibilities of the proposed Environmental Commission include holding organizational meetings and public hearings, preparing budget considerations for the Board of Commissioners, preparing model legislation for consideration by the Board of Commissioners, monitoring progress and making recommendations towards DeKalb County’s current environmental efforts, and providing quarterly updates to the Board of Commissioners. They will also conduct scientific analyses and generate comprehensive reports on the state of environmental justice in DeKalb County.